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E-cigarettes Appeal to Youth in Salt Lake County
Presence of smoke and vapor shops growing throughout  community

Public HealthMatters

	 It has been decades since 
American consumers could watch 
cigarette commercials, which once 
filled the airwaves with pitches for 
brands like Camel, Marlboro, Kool, 
Lucky Strike, Pall Mall, Virginia 
Slims, and Winston. We have known 
for the last 50 years that people who 
smoke cigarettes are much more 
likely to develop—and die from—
certain diseases than people who 
don’t smoke. More than 20 million 
Americans have died because of 
smoking since 1964, when the 
federal government issued Smoking 
and Health: Report of the Advisory 
Committee to the Surgeon General.
	 Sadly, you can watch and listen 
to cigarette advertisements again—
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to an extent: the smokes being 
advertised are now electronic 
cigarettes. Many e-cigarette 
competitors have borrowed 
from Big Tobacco’s playbook by 
glamorizing vaping and tapping 
celebrity spokespeople to promote 
these devices. Blu e-cigs, the 
leading brand in the category 
with roughly 40% of the market, 
uses actor Stephen Dorff and TV 
personality Jenny McCarthy to 
promote its products.
	 In recent years, millions of 
people have adopted this new 
technology. Electronic cigarettes 
are a class of products intended to 
deliver nicotine-containing aerosol 
(commonly called “vapor”) to a 

user. The device creates the vapor 
by heating a liquid solution typically 
comprised of propylene glycol and/
or glycerol (glycerin), nicotine, and a 
variety of flavoring agents.
	 E-cigarettes are designed to look 
and feel like a conventional cigarette, 
and are actively marketed as an 
alternative to regular cigarettes for 
use in places where smoking is not 
permitted.
	 In Utah, electronic cigarettes are 
included in the Utah Indoor Clean Air 
Act and are therefore not permitted 
to be smoked inside of buildings or 
within 25 feet of any open window, 
entry, exit, or air intake of a building 
where smoking is not allowed.

Smoke Shops and 
Vapor Shops in 

Salt Lake County*
Cottonwood Heights		  1
Holladay			   2
Midvale			   4
Murray				   8
Riverton			   5
Salt Lake City			  18
Sandy				    2
South Salt Lake		  4
Taylorsville			   9
Unincorporated County	 13
West Jordan			   7
West Valley City		  16

*Includes shops whose primary business is 
cigarette sales, e-cigarette sales, or both. 

Does not include other tobacco outlets, such 
as convenience and grocery stores.

“Vape” and smoke shops sell liquid nicotine, or “e-juice,” in a variety of kid-friendly flavors.  
The chemical composition of the liquid is unregulated and often inconsistent with labels 

provided by manufacturers, whose production processes are also unregulated.
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	 The benefits and risks of 
electronic cigarette use are uncertain. 
They carry a risk of promoting 
long-term nicotine use, and their 
regulation is the subject of ongoing 
debate. Since e-cigarettes have not 
been scientifically evaluated, there is 
no evidence that they are safe, or that 
they are effective in helping tobacco 
users quit.
	 Because clinical studies about 
the safety and effectiveness of 
e-cigarettes have not been submitted 
to the Food and Drug Administration 
(FDA), consumers currently have no 
way of knowing whether e-cigarettes 
are safe for their intended use, how 
much nicotine or other potentially 
harmful chemicals are being inhaled 
during use, or if there are any 
benefits or risks associated with 
using these products.
	 Due to the widespread marketing 
and early adoption of e-cigs, youth 
are exposed to them at an early age, 
and health officials are concerned 
this will “renormalize” smoking 
behaviors and cigarette use. 
	 The liquid nicotine (sometimes 
called “e-juice”) sold in smoke 
and vape shops comes in a 
seemingly endless number of kid-
friendly flavors, and e-cigarette 
manufacturers are aggressively 
marketing to children with flavors 
like Bazooka Bubble Gum, Captain 
Crunch, and Mountain Dew.  
	 E-cigarettes are the new 
preferred nicotine delivery device 
for youth in our state. According to 
the Utah Department of Health, the 
percentage of Utah high-school–age 
students who use e-cigarettes tripled 
between 2011 and 2013. Currently, 
5.9% of 8th, 10th, and 12th graders 
in Utah use e-cigarettes, while only 
3.8% smoke cigarettes. The data also 
show that 31.7% of students who 
reported ever using e-cigarettes say 
they have never tried conventional 
cigarettes. School resource officers 
in Salt Lake County consider 
e-cigarette use among youth an 
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“epidemic.”
	 Younger children are also 
subject to harm from their parents’ 
or older siblings’ e-cigarette 
paraphrenalia, too: According to 
the Utah Poison Control Center, 
e-cigarette “juice” has sent 79 
children ages 6 and under to 
hospitals since January 2012. 
There were 10 such poisoning 
cases in 2012, 48 in 2013, and 21 
in 2014 so far.
	 Some cities and states are 
pushing back against e-cigarettes, 
and taking steps to regulate 
their sale and public use. These 
local and state efforts should be 
followed and strengthened by 
federal action. Attorneys general 
from 40 states have called on the 
Food and Drug Administration to 
regulate e-cigarettes as tobacco 
products, a move that would give 
the FDA the power to impose age 
restrictions and limit marketing of 
the devices and liquids. The agency 
has not yet publicly released their 
proposed rules, however.
	 Across the country, small 
storefronts known as smoke shops 
and vape shops are opening. 
Smoke shops sell tobacco 
paraphernalia, tobacco products, 
and e-cigs, while vape shops sell 
solely e-cigs and e-juice. Currently, 
we have 75 smoke shops and 14 
vapor shops in Salt Lake County—
though numbers change regularly. 
	 Utah mandates, under state 
code 59-14-201, that any business 
intending to selling tobacco in the 
state of Utah must have a tobacco 
license. In addition, the state 
requires every tobacco retailer 
to undergo tobacco compliance 
checks up to four times yearly 
in order to reduce the number of 
illegal sales to underage youth.
	 Compliance checks remain 
one of the key strategies for states 
and local authorities to reduce 
smoking among young people. The 
federal Synar Amendment requires 

states to implement and maintain 
a compliance check system that 
ensures that youth tobacco sales 
stay at or below 20% in order to 
receive federal substance abuse 
prevention and treatment dollars. 	
	 Last year, 19% of smoke shops 
in Utah sold to minors younger 
than 19, and all other tobacco 
outlets—gas stations, grocery 
stores, etc. had a 5.2% fail rate.
	 In July 2012, legislation passed 
that requires new smoke and vape 
shops to obtain a retail tobacco 
specialty business license to 
operate, and restricts where those 
businesses can operate. Under 
the law, a business cannot be 
within 1,000 feet of a community 
location—a school, child care 
facility, church, library, public 
park or playground, youth center, 
or public arcade—or within 600 
feet of property zoned or used 
for agriculture or residential use. 
Businesses are required to submit 
annual gross receipts if the sale 
of tobacco products accounts for 
more than 35%. 
	 For more information about 
electronic cigarettes, contact 
Kathy Garrett, SLCoHD tobacco 
prevention and cessation program 
manager, at 385-468-4080.

What Can YOU Do?

As a leader in your city or 
community, you can help keep 
e-cigarettes away from youth. 
Ask your zoning or business 

licensing officials to ensure that 
any current or proposed smoke or 
vapor shops in your community 

meet the requirements of state law, 
under both Utah Code 59-14-201: 
Tobacco Licensing and 10-8-41.6: 
Retail Tobacco Speciality Business 

Regulations).
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