City council appoints new district three councilman

City council appoints new district three councilman
Posted on 10/05/2011

After soliciting letters of interest from residents and conducting thorough interviews of all the candidates, the Cottonwood Heights City Council has indicated they will appoint Mike Peterson to fill the vacant District Three city council seat.  The position was left vacant after former Councilwoman Nicole Omer resigned the post in order to pursue an employment opportunity in Colorado.  Peterson will take the oath of office at city council meeting on Oct. 11.

“Since the incorporation of the city, Mike Peterson has been an advocate and partner with us in advancing the goals of the city,” said Mayor Kelvyn Cullimore, Jr.  “He comes in ready to hit the ground running and will be a great addition to the city council.” 

Peterson has lived in Cottonwood Heights for more than 40 years.  He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Urban Recreation and Parks Administration from the University of Utah and has worked as the director of the Cottonwood Heights Parks and Recreation Service Area since July 2000.  He also served on the Cottonwood Heights Community Council and helped facilitate the feasibility studies that contributed to the incorporation of the city in 2005.

Peterson’s previous professional experience includes four years as Division Director for Salt Lake County Criminal Justice Services and nine years as Associate Division Director for Salt Lake County Parks and Recreation.  He has also served in various leadership positions for the National Recreation and Parks Association.

“To say the least, I’m excited and thrilled to serve the residents of District Three as well as all the residents of this great city,” said Peterson.  “I recognize that as a young city, we’ve come a long way in a very short period of time.  I don’t think this is just by chance, but because of the outstanding leadership we’ve been so fortunate to have in this city.  I am extremely proud to now be a part of that leadership.”

The city council expresses thanks to the eleven other well-qualified and dedicated candidates who expressed interest in the position:  Dax Anderson, Don Antczak, Jaren Davis, Joseph Demma, Ben Derrick, Michael Hanson, Sheryl Ivey, Gordon Nicholl, John Peterson, Carl Reed, and Ronnie Taylor.